European Day of Languages 2017

Celebrating Europe’s rich linguistic diversity

Today (26 September) is the Council of Europe’s European Day of Languages.

There are 24 languages that are officially recognized within the European Union. There are also more than 60 indigenous regional and minority languages, as well as numerous non-indigenous languages spoken by migrant communities.

That’s not including the many immigrants who have made Europe their home and brought their mother tongue with them. More than 100 different countries are represented by those living in Europe.

For more information on the European Day of Languages, which has been celebrated on 26 September every year since 2001, click here.

Contact us

* Required fields
  • Drop files here or